Why I’m not a beauty blogger

There are a myriad of reasons why I’m not a beauty blogger. I don’t have time for a skincare routine. I work full time, look after Libby full time and attempt to fit in some fitness. Some mornings I don’t get time to brush my teeth, nevermind brushing my hair and showering. Make-up is something that I might wear once a month on the rare occasions that I leave the house without my wellies. 

Sadly though, these aren’t the main reasons why I couldn’t be a beauty blogger. My main problem with beauty products is based around ethics. I have a huge problem with putting things onto my skin that are unnatural and full of chemicals. I have even more of a problem with skincare products being tested on animals. I have no idea how anybody can justify harming an animal for the sake of looking a bit nicer or having nicer feeling skin. As a one off though, I have decided to review some beauty products. The only reason I have agreed to do this is because the review is for EllaPure

EllaPure are a genuinely ethical skincare company. All of the ingredients in their products are organically sourced and scented only with natural juices and essential oils. Perhaps more importantly to me, the company are strongly against animal testing. They never have and never will test their products on animals. 

I was lucky enough to be sent a fabulous Essential Skincare set to try out. 

The set contains moisturiser, pure cream cleanser, eye bright gel, toner and facial scrub. I have already admitted that I’m not the most natural person to try out beauty products. In fact, I only usually use cleanser and moisturiser. Even these I use rarely. I moisturise when my skin starts to itch or peel because it’s so dry. I cleanse when I’ve remembered to leave cleanser in the shower, otherwise I’m ashamed to say I just wash my face with shower gel. 

This has all changed since receiving these products last week. They are so luxurious to use that I make a point of doing so at least once a day, sometimes even twice. I rather sheepishly had to ask my mum what eye bright gel was for. Having used it though, it became fairly obvious. It reduced the bags under my eyes almost immediately and they felt fabulous. 

Having quizzed my mum on what to do with the eye gel, I casually dropped into conversation with my sister that I wasn’t sure what to do with toner. Apparently you use it after cleansing to close your pores, get the remaining make-up off your skin and prepare it for moisturising. The smell of this toner is absolutely beautiful. It’s made with rosewater and brings back memories of a smell I remember from childhood and associate with my Gran, I’m not sure exactly why. 



The cleanser and facial scrub are both incredibly gentle on the skin and don’t dry it out at all. The moisturiser is perfect for me, it’s not too heavy but it is a deep enough moisturiser to make even my horribly neglected skin feel soft and lovely. 

The true test of a blogger review is whether you would spend your own money on the products you have been sent. I undoubtedly would, and will. I’d definitely invest in their hair care products and if I have another baby, I will be desperately trying to persuade my family to buy me the organic baby bag. 

I must also just give EllaPure a nod in the direction of the consultancy jobs they offer. I am always a huge advocate for jobs that people can do from home and being a consultant for such an ethical company must be a fabulous thing to do. 

5 thoughts on “Why I’m not a beauty blogger

  1. I'm in nearly the same boat as you Natalie with skincare routines – I slap on aloe vera or coconut oil as needed, but that's about it – although I have dark circles under my eyes and invisible eyelashes so I don't leave the house without a smudge of foundation used as concealer and a swipe of mascara. I really enjoyed product reviewing for the Green Parent Magazine though because I got sent some JASON hand cream, and didn't have to worry about what was in it, or who had suffered for it. EllaPure sounds lovely, what a great set of products to review 🙂

  2. This is a really lovely review, thanks so much, I am an EllaPure consultant and I LOVE working with them. The support and family feel of the company is like nothing else I have experienced before in sales which can be thank less. I became a consultant after trying the products on my daughters skin conditions and was blown away by the results. EllaPure gave me a real education on why we had problems and why their products were different – it's worrying that most people like myself don't know that our products are more harmful chemical in our food.
    It is so nice to see the things I use and rave about getting recognition elsewhere.

  3. Thank you Stacie. I'm so pleased for you that you work for such a great company. I also have a fabulous employer that allows me to work from home and fit my hours around looking after my daughter. It really is life changing. The products are amazing too, I see no reason why we need to put chemicals onto our skin & test on animals when the alternatives are so much better.x

Leave a Reply

