Learning about different cultures

For as long as I can remember, my dad’s family have had Japanese students staying with them for a couple of weeks every summer. Last year, it was a real honour and a sign that I had become a proper grown-up when we were asked to host some students as well. 

The students are only 14 or 15 years old and they spend a few days over in the UK with host families to improve their English and learn a bit more about our culture. Despite being so young, they are immaculately behaved and a pleasure to have around the house. It is a fantastic opportunity for the students and I view it as an equally exciting opportunity for us. I love the fact that Libby is associating with people with a different cultural background to us. As she gets older, I hope to continue hosting students each year. This should encourage Libby to really interact with them and hopefully learn a few words of Japanese. If this gives her an interest in different languages and cultures then I will be delighted. 

My husband and I have both travelled quite a lot and I am really keen to encourage Libby to do the same when she is old enough. Of course, we will have family holidays abroad when she is old enough to appreciate it. In particular, we will travel to France where I can speak the language, which I hope will encourage Libby to learn a foreign language too. In the meantime though, she is already learning a little bit about the Japanese culture. Today, she even received her own little traditional kimono as a present from one of our students. What a lucky girl! 




4 thoughts on “Learning about different cultures

Leave a Reply

