New shoes!!!

Last week, I received an email asking if I would like to review a pair of running shoes. This came at the perfect time for me, my old pair were so far beyond repair it was no longer funny. I really couldn’t justify forking out for another pair of shoes but I was determined to keep on running. I have done a half marathon and a triathlon recently in shoes that were digging into my feet at the back where the fabric had worn away and had huge holes in the toes. 

So you can imagine my excitement this afternoon when I saw a delivery van arrive with a parcel! My heart sank when the driver handed it over, it was much too light to be my shoes, it must be our new broadband router. I put the package down on the kitchen work surface and looked at it again; it had a Hi-Tec logo on it… 

I’m not really a shoe person, I don’t have hundreds of pairs and I certainly don’t buy them regularly. These though, are something to get excited about. I have had Hi-Tec running shoes before, years ago, and loved them. They have a fantastic range of women’s running shoes

I’ve never seen anything quite like these though. The pair I am trying out are the Illusion. They are advertised as light-weight and they really are. They feel quite minimalist despite being cushioned underfoot, the upper part is just like wearing a sock. Plus, they look great! I’m never one for buying running shoes because they look nice, but these are pretty! 

 The ultimate test though came this evening when I headed out for a run. I’m doing an aquathlon in a few weeks and the run is only 5km, so most of my training is focused on doing that distance and trying to improve my time. On Saturday, I managed my 5km in just over 26 minutes. Today I managed to cut that down to 25:11. I’m not saying that a pair of shoes could shave a minute off my time, but they certainly helped! They were a pleasure to run in, my feet felt noticeably lighter and I could feel the air coming in through the toes which, in this weather, is fantastic! Despite being new I didn’t feel any rubbing or blistering on my feet, every part of the shoe seems to be designed for comfort. 

I will continue to put these to the test over the next few weeks and see how they fare in the aquathlon; I suspect they will do me proud! If I had to criticise one thing about the Hi-Tec Illusion, it would be that they’re too easy to steal! 

This post was not sponsored but Hi-Tec sent me a pair of their amazing shoes to review. Views, opinions, sore feet from my old running shoes and resident shoe-thieves are all mine.

2 thoughts on “New shoes!!!

Leave a Reply

