Dreams of a bathroom…

So, here we are in 2013. That means that it’s nearly 10 years since I first bought this house. I was 23 when I bought it. The house was too big for me on my own to be able to afford or renovate, and it needed some work doing.

I’ve since moved out of the house but didn’t sell it, then moved back in here with my husband in February of last year. Now that we are living here as a family, it’s a fantastic place to be, ideal for the three of us with plenty of space and a nice little garden. Sadly though, I’ve never been able to afford to sort out our bathroom. The bathroom suite is the same one that was there when I bought it, which was outdated and, quite frankly, hideous ten years ago.

So, it’s time to start planning my dream bathroom. At the moment it’s still just a dream but as Eleanor Roosevelt said, the future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.

My dream bathroom today is a little bit different to my dream bathroom of 2003. A baby really does change everything. It’s no longer all about aesthetics, I now have to consider the practicalities.

The first thing I want to do is to knock down the god-awful dividing wall between my bathroom and toilet. We currently have a pokey little bathroom that, with the added space, could be spacious enough for a separate shower and a nice big bath. Of course, both a shower and a bath will be essential. A shower for the daily grind, getting everyone washed and ready to go off to where they need to be quickly. A bath is my luxury. A nice, long, deep bath where I can stretch out with bubble bath and a glass of champagne.

Ok ok, back to the practicalities. There are three of us now and I hope that one day we will add a fourth to our number. That’s a lot of showers, and a lot of towels. So my dream bathroom will definitely have nice big, classy heated towel rails. I can’t stand wet towels or unnecessary washing and this will solve both of those problems instantly.

On another practical note, I have always worried about our bathroom floor. Firstly, it’s rubbish. Secondly, it’s slippery. Actually, for our little family, that’s not the end of the world. Occasionally though, my husband’s dad comes to stay with us and I always worry about him slipping when he gets out of the shower. He’s elderly so a fall could be really serious and I would hate to have that on my conscience.

That’s why I’ve looked into the best non-slip flooring option. My dad has a wipe-clean fabric bathroom floor. It’s quite nice to walk on because it’s soft. I suppose it’s practical and it’s definitely non-slip, but I just wouldn’t really want a fabric floor. I much prefer the idea of some real tiles. My favourite are the tumbled travertine tiles. They are tumbled to enhance the naturally pitted nature of the travertine they are made out of. This means that they look great, feel quite soft underfoot and, best of all, they have a great grip even when they’re wet so they’re not slippery! I also love the anecdote that the Coliseum in Rome is made of Travertine so even the wear and tear of a family bathroom shouldn’t phase them!

My final bathroom extravagance would be a lovely modern, elegant sink. It would have to be sleek and slender and have big silver taps. I can’t decide on the design, but it would be a feature of the room and it would, of course, be easy to keep clean. The same goes for the whole bathroom, cleaning it has to be a doddle, if not a pleasure.

One day I’ll get my dream bathroom. I’m saving up, my time will come. And when it does, bring on bath time!


This post was sponsored but the views, opinions, hideous bathroom suite, elderly inlaws and future dream bathroom are all mine.

2 thoughts on “Dreams of a bathroom…

  1. Wow, that's a wish list and a half 🙂 Matt put our suite in himself after we were quoted an eye-watering £5K by a bathroom company (seriously, I was heavily pregnant wish Ollie, and we live in an ex-council terrace on a dodgy estate, what was the guy thinking – if we had £5K for a bathroom we wouldn't be living here!) rant over. Anyhoo, we got the cheapest suite the DIY shop sold, which was a mistake as the clearance under the bath was hopeless and we ended up having to call in a plumber to help (he put in a shower plumbing thing in the end as it was so tight). The tiling matt did also shows a definite learning curve. I am yet to replace the flooring, because it was fine at the time, but now the kids (ok, matt really) keeps flooding the bathroom floor it goes through the ceiling underneath, so I want to put vinyl down. All in, less that £200. My dream bathroom, it is not, but it is a good, light, space and very practical 🙂 Good luck with the dream 🙂

  2. Oh wow £200 is amazing! I think it's because our is so bad and I've had it for so long, I've just put too much thought into what I want and anything less than my dream bathroom will be disappointing. In fairness though it serves its purpose and will do the job until we can afford to upgrade, hopefully to something dreamy 🙂

Leave a Reply

