A free kick up the backside courtesy of Vistaprint

Where work is concerned, I am incredibly organised. I hate having to-do lists hanging over me, everything has to be done now. I often stay up until the early hours of the morning to make sure that any work that needs doing is done. Why is it then, that when it comes to my home life, my organisational skills escape through my ears and nothing ever gets done? 


So when Vistaprint asked me to review one of their photo books, I could think of just the right photographs to put in it… all the photographs I have taken for the last 18 months. This covers our honeymoon right through to Libby aged 10 months. I had absolutely no photos printed. I am so grateful to Vistaprint for giving me a well-needed shove to finally get around to doing it. 
Photo books are, in my opinion, the best thing to come out of digital photography. These days, nobody prints photos like they used to. We all look at photographs on mobile phones or computer screens, but there is nothing like a proper photo. Photo books can overcome all of this and they are so much more convenient and less fiddly than an old-fashioned album. 

Due to the sheer volume of photographs that I had stacked up, I went for Vistaprint’s extra large book. You can have this with a smart leather cover, but as a vegetarian I’m not a big fan of gratuitous leather. Regardless of that, I felt that a

better option was to have one of my own photographs as the book cover. I also went for the glossy paper. This really makes it look and feel like good old-fashioned photographs. And of course, I added extra pages. This is really straight forward and I was able to easily find space for all of my photos. 


I have made a few photo books in the past and, whilst I adore the finished product, I always dread making them. They take days and days. Strangely though, this one was different. I downloaded the Vistaprint photo editing software. This took only a few seconds to download and worked instantly. You also have the option of auto-fill and of doing it online, but with so many photos that I wanted to include, I enjoyed having the flexibility to change the layout, size and number of photos on each page. 

Despite choosing the more complicated option and agonising over each page, the book took me just a couple of hours to put together. I would even go as far as to say that I enjoyed it. This is a vast improvement on the last few books I have made, which have been about as pleasurable as pulling teeth. Not only was the experience of making this book painless, the result, as you can see, is absolutely beautiful even if I do say so myself. 

Disclaimer- I was given a free photo book for reviewing this product. I didn’t really get an actual kick up the backside. The views, opinions, photos, lack of organisation and shocked looking baby are all mine. 
Leave a Reply

