Continuing on the green theme…

Following on from my post about my love for real nappies, I thought I’d write another couple of posts about the environment and my concerns about the impact that we have on it. The first of these links in with Ecover’s Message in Our Bottle campaign. This is really starting to take off now, I have read a few blogs about it and it’s such a great campaign that everybody is getting right behind them. 

Ecover have pledged to clean up our planet one bottle at a time. These days, it’s not just about throwing your plastic bottle into the recycling when you’ve finished with it, it’s much more than that. Not only are Ecover using recycled plastic and Plant-astic to make their bottles, they are also using reclaimed sea plastic. They are aiming to get fishermen involved in retrieving rubbish from the sea so that they can use as much sea plastic as possible in their packaging. 

Plant-astic is a green plastic that is made from sugar cane and is recyclable, renewable, petrol-free and reusable. Ecover have been using this since 2011. They have now decided to combine plant-astic with recycled plastic both from domestic sources and from the sea. Currently, only 30% of UK recycling is processed here. The rest is shipped abroad, as far afield as Asia. Our seas and beaches are increasingly polluted with plastic from littering, industry and landfill. It seems like Ecover have come up with a novel and productive solution to this problem. 

A few years ago, some friends and I swam from the Isle of Wight back to the mainland to raise money for charity. I often swim in lakes, rivers and in the sea but the Solent swim was the longest sea swim I’ve done. Whilst I didn’t see too much rubbish during the swim, I know that it’s in there and could have been dangerous to me as well as to marine life. I can’t help wondering whether Libby’s generation will still be able to swim in the sea or whether it will have become too polluted and dangerous.

I’ve always been concerned about the environment but it is becoming more meaningful to me now that I’ve got a baby who will need our beautiful world for a bit longer than me. Ecover aim to lead the way in sustainable packaging. I really hope that others follow suit. 

I haven’t been paid to write this post, but ecover are going to send me a bottle of washing up liquid for helping to spread the word… I hope hubby will enjoy using that! 

Cleaning the seas, one bottle at a timeCleaning the seas, one bottle at a time. Visit The-Splash for more information and to read our pledge.








Leave a Reply

